When I die

I’ve been having a lot of trouble dealing with Thor’s mothers passing for multiple reasons. She really filled up the whole room and you can just tell she’s not here. That’s been hard.

I think the great thing though is it really has me thinking about my own death. I was given advice by the Oregon Mortuary Board to NOT pre-purchase anything from any one cemetery because it gives them an opportunity to up-charge your grieving family or let them update policies from when you purchased to new guidelines that may leave a large bill that can be shocking. I was told to instead, devote a savings to it and make it known it’s purpose and keep it’s location in the will.

Thor and I will be opening one within the next month and depositing about $20 a month for the next few years until our income gets a little more substantial and then more as we go.

It’s the how though. I’ve always wanted to be mummified but then thinking of the whole brain-scramble-out-through-the-nose-pull, I don’t want to do that. Thor is all for being cremated but I don’t want that either. I thought and researched natural burial and enjoyed that option but I think for me the trouble came from being buried where it’s sad all over every day. But I don’t want to be carried around by my children either. I also REALLY love the marble statues and benches.

Insert the Bios UrnImage

You are cremated and your remains are placed in this urn. You are then buried and from you sprouts a tree, all for 137,00 €

I know what I would like to happen when I pass. When Chad and I buy a home, I would like to be cremated and placed in a Bios Urn. I would like to be buried behind my home where I have space to grow and shade those I love. I would like a marble bench and statue to be at my feet and I would love if my husband would follow and be buried near me. I like the idea of our roots touching for another few hundred years. ^_^

If you have kids I urge you to think about it, if only in good humor or passing. It’s important to make a decision if you are partial to one, or to let it be known that you are not and whatever happens happens.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “When I die

Leave a comment