Are you relevant? You is.

Basically I always find that when telling a story I start at the beginning, run through the middle and stop at the end (usually.)

I went to school to become a doctor. Not a Gallifreyan bit o’sexy but an honest Doctor of Optometry. It was my dreams, my hopes, my wishes. I trained, I studied and I failed. Well, not failed but I failed classes. I brought a GPA from 3.24 to 2.04 by failing all these math and science classes that just held 0 of my interest.

 

I had a breakdown when I realized I could not be a doctor and I now had 0 direction. What can I be?! Who am I?!

 

Tomorrow I am going to talk to an admissions counselor to try and get some ideas on paper on where to go.

 

I know I want my masters and I know I want it to be in Religious Studies. That is a hard program because mostly Ivy Leagues offer it and let us face it, I am not Ivy League material with a 2.04. But that doesn’t mean I am going to stop. 

 

My main concern is to currently bring my $59,734 in loans down to a reasonable number and in order to do that I have to find a “job”. This is where my issues are coming back.

 

I have a Bachelor of Science in Religious Studies. Let’s go through that slowly. Bachelor (that’s good) of Science (sounds impressive) in Religious Studies (wha?)

 

Therefore, I am left feeling unqualified and lost in application for jobs. I have a lot of different experience. Writer, website builder, manager, sales floor, mailer, marketer, social media manager, file clerk, inventory manager, research data gathering, and it’s all within four jobs. I tend to take on a lot of responsibility very quickly when I work and I enjoy it but it leaves my resume looking like a liar. Do I omit? Do I add?

 

Should I just work at McDonalds?!

 

Hopefully tomorrow the counselor has some advice and I am able to report it. The best thing that all this has done is that I am taking a hard look at what I like and what interests me.

 

Bookbinding

Crafting

Paperwork

Optometry

Religion

Teaching

 

How did you know your life career? Did you fall into it or did you search it out?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Are you relevant? You is.

  1. I am still searching for mine. It is so hard to narrow down my passion! You are not alone. I hope that the counselor helps you.

Leave a comment